Week 20 Future Perfect

 

Future Perfect

When I was just a little girl my mother said

Whatever will be will be

The futures not ours to see

When I was the mother I said

Don’t just let it be…

Aggressively the future we must see

When I was older I said

Whatever did happen or seem…..

This present was never before seen 

In my hindsight now I see

Nature and its creations I did not preserve 

This present I could not perceive

With my eyes closed I can also see

The poor need not have seen this fate

Had I shared what I overate

With my mind I cannot be shy

The trees and all of Nature need not die

They must thrive for you and me and the sky

With my true sense I know

If we kill any creature, big or small

If they don’t live humans will die before

Now I can clearly see

The naked truth the human eye cannot see

My mind surely knows the wrongs that have been

Even though the spirit knows

What is mine today will not be mine

It will all be dust and so will thine

My mother was right of course when she said

Whatever will be will be

She lived a simple life and let Nature be

Sheelu Puri

20/10/2020

Leave a comment